Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Horn Quartet No. 1

Horn Quartet No. 1

Worsham, Daniel


  • Ensemble: Horn Quartet
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 11.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS590

The composer writes -

Horn Quartet No. 1 was written with the American orchestral horn section in mind. The Assistant part is almost identical to the Principal part and it is up to said Principal to decide what it played or doubled by the Assistant. You can, of course, play the quartet with the traditional four horns.

As a composer I would be lying to say this piece was inspired by one thing alone, but a great deal of influence did come from the lockout of the Musicians of the Minnesota Orchestra as well as other struggling musical organizations around the globe.

The opening section is a rambunctious little diddy that characterizes an orchestral musicians hectic life. Shortly after those in charge of the organization are introduced thematically by a sarcastic melody in the fourth horn.

"The Man" is also referenced in a more sinister fashion featuring the fourth horn once again. The dialogue between the musicians and "The Man" continues throughout the piece.

The statements, professions, pleads and condemnations by both sides provide an array of emotion throughout this 10 and a half minute poem.

Although this was written with a specific horn section in mind, it was never intended to be played by them alone. I encourage anyone who finds this piece in their repertoire to play it with passion and intensity and to remember it is, above all else, about spreading the power of music.

-Daniel Worsham, 2013

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design