Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Die Zwei Blauen Augen (The Two Blue Eyes) From Songs of the Wayfarer

Die Zwei Blauen Augen (The Two Blue Eyes) From Songs of the Wayfarer

Mahler, Gustav

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 3.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE160304

Gustav Mahler composed Songs of the Wayfarer for Orchestra and solo voice, while in his early 20s.

This cycle of four songs is the composer’s first mature work and the start of a genre known as the orchestral song cycle. The cycle tells the story (Mahler also wrote the lyrics) of a young man betrayed by his lover. The hero wanders the countryside, going through a series of emotional states. This work is semi-autobiographical, as Mahler had been rejected by soprano Johanna Richter.

Instrumentation: 423.11 brass ensemble

  • Trumpet 1 in E♭ (C and B♭ part also provided)
  • Trumpet 2 in B♭ (Doubles on Piccolo Trumpet), (C part also provided)
  • Trumpet 3 in B♭ (C part also provided)
  • Flugelhorn
  • 2 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Timpani
To buy all four Wayfarer songs for one low price click here

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design