Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Espa˝a (Rhapsody for Orchestra)

Espa˝a (Rhapsody for Orchestra)

Chabrier, Emmanuel

Arr. Bishop, Andrew


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 6.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS920

Espa˝a (Rhapsody for Orchestra) is the best-known composition by French composer Emmanuel Chabrier. It was composed in 1883 and flavored with Spanish folk melodies Chabrier encountered when he and his wife toured Spain the previous year. The success of the work afforded Chabrier instant acclaim and was roundly praised by music critics and musicians, including Mahler - who once announced the work to the musicians of the New York Philharmonic as "the start of modern music." As for Chabrier himself, he often referred to it humbly as "a piece in 'F' and nothing more."

This edition for large brass ensemble, harp and percussion was written for Boulder Brass, and displays virtuosity from all players. It requires an especially proficient piccolo trumpet player and very talented euphonium player. In addition, the harp part for this arrangement is a condensed version of both Harp 1 & 2 parts in Chabrier's original orchestration and thus requires a talented harpist.

Espa˝a is sure to wow any audience as a closer or encore showcase.

Instrumentation (432.11 + harp & percussion):
  • Piccolo Trumpet 1 in B♭
  • Trumpet 2&3 in C
  • Trumpet 4 in B♭
  • 2 Horns in F
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Harp
  • Timpani
  • 1 Percussionist (Triangle, Tambourine, Crash Cymbals, Bass Drum, Suspended Cymbal)

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design