Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Horkstow Grange from A Lincolnshire Posy

Horkstow Grange from A Lincolnshire Posy

Grainger, Percy

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 2.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE170102

A Lincolnshire Posy, considered Grainger's masterpiece, was composed for concert band in 1937. The work is composed of six movements, each adapted from folk songs that Grainger had collected on a 1905–1906 trip to Lincolnshire, England. Grainger maintained the personality and quirks of each singer he heard on his trip, creating a a musical portrait of the singer's personality and musical style.

Horkstow Grange (subtitled "A Miser and his Man - a Local Tragedy") is the second movement presents a slow, legato, repeating, re-harmonizing motif. Shifting mostly between 4/4 and 5/4 time. This is the most well-known movement of the piece, and is considered by many in the concert band world to be one of the best-written, best-orchestrated, and most beautiful pieces in the repertoire.

Instrumentation: 423.11 brass ensemble

  • Trumpet 1 in E♭
  • Trumpet 2 B♭
  • Cornet 3 in B♭ (off stage)
  • Flugelhorn
  • 2 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Percussion - Field Drum, Sus. Cymbal

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design