Art of Sound Music on Facebook
The Rite of Spring/Le Sacre du Printemps – Part 1

The Rite of Spring/Le Sacre du Printemps – Part 1

Stravinsky, Igor

Arr. Snedecor, Phil


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 15.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS1136

  • Introduction
  • The Augurs of Spring/Les Augures printaniers
  • Ritual of Abduction/Jeu du rapt
  • Spring Rounds/Rondes printanières
  • Ritual of the Rival Tribes/Jeux des cités rivales
  • Procession of the Sage/Cortège du sage
  • The Sage/Le Sage
  • Dance of the Earth/Danse de la terre

Composition completed in Clarens, Switzerland on March 8, 1913. Rehearsal marks here match the 1921 Edition Russe de Musique, RV 197/197b. Section 5 (3 bars) are intentionally omitted in this edition.

ScoreFlipper audio from the Washington Symphonic Brass recording “The Edge”

Instrumentation 444.01 brass ensemble and percussion:

  • Piccolo Trumpet 1 in B♭ (Doubles on C Tpt. and Picc in A [adjust leadpipe])
  • Trumpet 2 in C (Doubles on B♭ Piccolo)
  • Trumpet 3 in C (Doubles on Flugelhorn and B♭ Piccolo)
  • Trumpet 4 in C (Doubles on B♭ Trumpet)
  • 4 Horns
  • 3 Trombones (Trombone 3 doubles on Euphonium)
  • Bass Trombone
  • Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Percussion 1 (Vibraphone, Crotales, Xylophone, Tam-tam, Guiro)
  • Percussion 2 (Bass Drum, Triangle, Xylophone, Tam-tam)

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design