Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Three Preludes

Three Preludes

Gershwin, George

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 7.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE120501

These short piano pieces were first performed by Gershwin at the Roosevelt Hotel in New York in 1926. and are excellent examples of Gershwin's ability to meld classical music and jazz.

Following in the footsteps of Bach and Debussy, Gershwin originally planned to compose twenty four preludes, but only completed seven. Gershwin is rumored to have performed only five of them in public, and ultimately only these three were published in 1926.

Instrumentation: 423.11 brass ensemble
  • Piccolo Trumpet 1 in B♭
  • Trumpet 2 in E♭
  • Trumpet 3 & 4 in B♭
  • 2 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Percussion (Splash Cymbal, Xylophone, Glockenspiel, Suspended Cymbal, Triangle, Vibraphone)

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design