Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Wind from The Mountain

Wind from The Mountain

Ellisor, Connie


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 19.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: DBP9004

Original work commissioned by the Denver Brass and premiered in January 2000. An amazing, high-energy three-movement work – a musician and audience favorite!

From the composer...

"When the commission was offered, the parameters were for ”brass and percussion”and it should in some way represent Colorado. When I started to write it, it was approximately a year since my mother’s death. When I approached the piece in Colorado there’s those winds that come in the autumn that seem to blow all the old stuff a way.

But these things always take on a life of their own, and the second movement is very dark and it’s about that place in life where, for me personally, from the diagnosis of cancer (in her mother) to the end, there was no way out. There’s no way out; the inevitable will happen; it’s relentless...In the third movement, it ends in a praye. I’m hoping that it’s basically uplifting"

ScoreFlipper features audio from a Denver Brass concert.

Instrumentation: 422.12 + 2 percussion
  • Trumpet 1 in B♭ (doubles on B♭ Piccolo and Flugelhorn)
  • Trumpet 2 & 3 in B♭
  • Trumpet 4 in B♭ (doubles on Flugelhorn)
  • 2 Horns
  • Trombone
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • 2 Tubas
  • Percussion - Tam-tam, Suspended Cymbal, Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Chimes
  • Timpani

This work is part of our Denver Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design