Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Sonatina for Brass Quartet

Sonatina for Brass Quartet

Lathan, Mark


  • Ensemble: Brass Quartet
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 5.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS330

The composer writes...

I composed Sonatina for Brass Quartet to be performed at my own senior recital while studying trumpet at Northern Illinois University. The piece is reminiscent of twentieth century classicism in that it derives much of its personality from contemporary melodies and harmonies working within a traditional sonata form.

The first section begins with a very recognizable and energetic tune. Each of the four players is called upon to execute some quickly moving passages, taking them and the audience on an exhilarating sonic journey. A second section brings on the contrasting theme, a slow reflective melody with continuing opportunity for each voice to make significant contributions to the conversation. The calm is destined to return to the opening character and after moving through some transitional paces does so, bringing the piece to a strong and decisive close.

It was great fun for me to compose and perform. Enjoy!

The Ship to Me version includes

  • Score
  • Trumpets I & II in Bb
  • Trombone
  • Bass Trombone

The PDF version includes the above PLUS Trumpet parts in C.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design