Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Five Monteverdi Madrigals - Volume II

Five Monteverdi Madrigals - Volume II

Monteverdi, Claudio

Arr. Bishop, Andrew


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet
  • Genre: Madrigal
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 15.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS896

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643) was one of the preeminent composers of his time, helping to bridge the connection between the Renaissance and Baroque compositional styles. He spent a considerable amount of time composing madrigals, publishing nine volumes between the years of 1587-1651. His first six books are for five voices, and it is of those books which the madrigals in these present volumes are taken.

Each of the three volumes features five madrigals of varying styles, tempi and complexity, totaling between 15-16 minutes of music. It is the hope of the editor that each individual ensemble will consider performing these madrigals as customized set, with madrigals from any of the three volumes. The indicated dynamic and articulation markings are editorial, designed to provide a transcription for brass quintet that remains faithful to the vocal text of each madrigal. Similarly, many of the breath marks that appear are to be treated as phrase indications rather than literal places to take a breath.

Volume 2
1. Bevea Fillide mia e nel ber dolcemente
2. Cruda Amarilli che col nome ancora d'amar
3. Io mi son giovinetta e rido e canto
4. O Teseo, Teseo mio
5. Zefiro torna e'l bel tempo rimena

While all of the madrigals can be performed on trumpet, the editor suggests exploring conical instrument options (cornet or flugelhorn), especially for madrigal No. 2 Cruda Amarilli.

Includes trumpet parts in B♭ and C.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design