Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Hornpipe from Water Music Suite in F

Hornpipe from Water Music Suite in F

Handel, George Frederic

Arr. O'Hara, Chris


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 1.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS122

"Handel's Water Music is a suite written as entertainment for a royal dinner party thrown by England’s King George the first in July 1717.  The diner party was to be held on a barge sailing the river Thames, and hence the name Water Music.

King George and his guests dined and socialized on one barge, while Handel and his 50 musicians performed for them on a second barge traveling close by. Trumpets were extensively used for their ability to carry sound outdoors.  The King enjoyed the music so much that he asked for it to be played three times as they sailed up and down the river.

The PDF version includes the following standard and alternate parts.  The alternate parts are not included in Ship to Me version.

Part 1 - Bb Trumpet (alt. C Trumpet)
Part 2 - Bb Trumpet (alt. C Trumpet)
Part 3 - F Horn
Part 4 - Trombone
Part 5 - Tuba

This arrangement is part of our Chris O'Hara Signature Series.   Chris O’Hara is an renowned trumpet soloist, chamber musician, and an educator.   He was a founding member of the internationally acclaimed Synergy Brass Quintet.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design