Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Shepherd's Hey

Shepherd's Hey

Grainger, Percy

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet
  • Genre: Folk
  • Grade: 3
  • Duration: 2.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BQ880606

Shepherd’s Hey is based on a traditional English Morris dance – a dance of pastoral origins with prominent hand clapping. Like many of Grainger's settings of English folk dances, this one is usually considered light-hearted and joyful, but Grainger stated that he felt pent-up energy or even anger during the composition process. Perhaps these feelings compelled him to mark in the original score that "This setting is not suitable to dance Morris Dance to."

This arrangement by Mike Allen builds and builds, and is a real crowd pleaser.

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design