Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Four Dances from Les fêtes vénitiennes

Four Dances from Les fêtes vénitiennes

Campra, Andre

Arr. Sorenson, Scott


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet and Organ
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 5.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: DB-CAN0284

Four movement work for Brass Quintet, Organ and Optional Timpani.

  1. Entree de la Suite de la Folie
  2. La Bohemienne
  3. Air de la Suite de L'Amour
  4. Air pour la Suite du Carnaval

Program Notes

Campra’s main contribution to the French lyrical stage was the form opéra-ballet. The term applied to large scale works consisting of a prologue and several entreés, each with its own set of characters and independent action, but all loosely related to a collective idea. Structured to include a prologue and five separate entreés, Les fêtes vénitiennes is an essential work in this genre. First performed at the Paris Opera on June 17, 1710, the collective idea for this work is adequately described in its translation: “Venetian Festival.” The titles of these dances and their English translations read as follows: Entrée de la suite de la folie (“Entrance in Succession to a Piece of Folly”); La Bohémienne (“The Bohemian” or “Gypsy”); Air de la suite de l’amour (“Song from the Suite of Love”); and, Air pour la suite du carnaval (“Song for the Suite of the Carnival”).

Performance Suggestions

These four dances have been selected from various scenes in Les fêtes vénitiennes and do not necessarily follow suit in the performance of the opéra-ballet. It should be noted that all ornaments, articulations, dynamics, tempi and terminology are editorial. The original key of g minor (movement II originally in a minor) has been lowered to e minor. When establishing an ensemble balance, take caution to ensure a sonorous balance between the organ and brass. Neither should dominate during the tutti passages. The instrumentation allows for a standard brass quintet with either Bb or C trumpets (while C trumpets are preferred). Use of the timpani is optional, but very effective in a large performance hall or cathedral.

Instrumentation: Brass Quintet with Organ and Optional timpani

  • Trumpet 1 & 2 in C (B♭ parts provided)
  • Horn
  • Trombone
  • Tuba
  • Timpani (optional)
  • Organ

This arrangement is part of our Denver Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design