Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Jeux d'enfants

Jeux d'enfants

Bizet, Georges

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 13.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE181101

Jeux d'enfants (Children's Games) Op. 22, is originally a suite of twelve miniatures composed by Georges Bizet for piano four hands in 1871. Bizet's biographer, Winton Dean, considers the suite to be a forerunner of similar childhood-related works by Debussy (Children’s Corner), Fauré (Dolly Suite), and Ravel (Mother Goose) – and one could hardly argue to the contrary. Dean writes that each movement "evokes a facet of childhood, but there is not a trace of triviality, self-consciousness or false sentiment." Bizet orchestrated these six movements for orchestra, arranged here for brass.

1. Trompette et tambour – marche (Trumpet and drum)
2. La poupée – berceuse (The Doll)
3. La toupie – impromptu (The Top)
4. Petit mari, petite femme – duo (Little husband, little wife)
5. Les chevaux de bois – scherzo (Rocking Horse)
6. Le bal – galop (The ball)

For 11-piece brass ensemble (423.11) and percussion


  • Piccolo Trumpet 1 in B♭ 
  • Piccolo Trumpet 2 in B♭  (doubles on E♭ Trumpet or E♭ Cornet)
  • Trumpet 3 in B♭ (doubles on Flugelhorn)
  • Flugelhorn
  • 2 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Percussion (Field Drum, Triangle, Xylophone, Sus. Cymbal, Temple Blocks, Whip )


This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design