Art of Sound Music on Facebook
On Hearing the First Cuckoo of Spring

On Hearing the First Cuckoo of Spring

Delius, Frederick

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 6.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE240321

On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring is a tone poem composed in 1912 by Frederick Delius. Together with Summer Night on the River it is one of Delius's Two Pieces for Small Orchestra. The two were first performed in Leipzig in 1913. On Delius's champion Sir Thomas Beecham described this piece as the best known of the composer's works.

Instrumentation: 423.11 brass ensemble

  • Piccolo Trumpet 1 in B♭
  • Trumpet 2 in C
  • 2 Flugelhorns
  • 2 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design