Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Capriol Suite

Capriol Suite

Warlock, Peter

Arr. Frasier, Jane


  • Ensemble: Brass Sextet
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 3
  • Duration: 2.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS1646

Capriol Suite 1926 by Peter Warlock and is considered one of his most popular works. Originally written for piano duet, Warlock later scored it for both string and full orchestras. According to the composer, it was based on tunes in Thoinot Arbeau's Orchésographie, a manual of Renaissance dances. Nevertheless, Warlock's biographer, Cecil Gray, wrote that "if one compares these tunes with what the composer has made of them it will be seen that to all intents and purposes it can be regarded as an original work".

This is a piece that blends renaissance and modern styles/harmonies.

  1. Basse-Danse
  2. Pavane
  3. Tordio
  4. Bransles
  5. Pieds-en-l’air
  6. Mattachins (Sword Dance)

Instrumentation: 212.01

  • 2 Trumpets (part provided in B♭ and C)
  • Horns in F
  • 2 Trombones
  • Tuba

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design