Art of Sound Music on Facebook


Levesque, Craig


  • Ensemble: Concert Band
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 2
  • Duration: 2.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: CRL102

A passacaglia and Woodwind feature in common time, Lament emphasizes part independence and utilizes a harmonically challenging palate to set its melancholic mood. Smooth, legato playing is very important, and the composition is a fruitful vehicle for improving tone quality. Lament may also serve as an introduction to Baroque compositional techniques, as the passacaglia theme is present and easily recognizable at all times. Although the Clarinet parts are particularly difficult, as all three are important, independent lines, this piece is achievable by advanced middle school and most high school ensembles. The third Clarinet stays below the break, Brass ranges are very conservative, and the Oboe, Bassoon and Bass Clarinet parts are optional. A challenging and rewarding addition to your next program!

2 Flutes, Oboe (optional), 3 Clarinets, Bass Clarinet (optional), Bassoon (optional), 2 Alto Saxophones, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, 3 Trumpets, Horn, 2 Trombones, Baritone/Euphonium, Tuba, 3 Percussion.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design