Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Scenes without Words

Scenes without Words

Greenberg, Charlie


  • Ensemble: Violin, Cello and Piano
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 13.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS1230

"Scenes without Words" is a four movement Piano Trio.Each one (except movement 4) named after something popular, or at least theatrical.

  1. Circus Vibes – Gained its title when the composer realized that one of the early themes resembled “Entry of the Gladiators” (Thunder and Blazes), the most familiar of classic circus tunes.
  2. Dickens and Nelly - An adaptation of a love duet form Act II of “Dickens and Nelly”, a collaboration between librettist Barbara Zinn Krienger and Charlie Greenberg, based on the scandalous, 13 year love affair between Charles Dickens and actress, Nelly Ternan.
  3. A Homage Nina Simone - Inspired by the musical versatility of the African American singer and pianist whose gospel and classical roots influenced her evolving views of blues, folk jazz and the music of the civil rights movement.
  4. Carl Churning Rides Again – A quixotic and rock-ish salute to that master of piano pedagogue, Carl Czernzy.

Premiered March 2, 2016

  • Piano: Warren Helms
  • Violin: Amy Hamilton-Soto
  • Cello: Amy Butler Visscher

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design