Art of Sound Music on Facebook
First Suite from Razumov (Quintet)

First Suite from Razumov (Quintet)

Bartholomew, Greg


  • Ensemble: Clarinet and String Quartet
  • Genre:
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 9.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS458

This suite derives from three scenes of Act One of Razumov, a chamber opera based on the novel Under Western Eyes by Joseph Conrad. Themes for the first movement are taken from the opening scene, in which a university student (Haldin) assassinates a government minister. Haldin then seeks refuge in the room of a fellow student, Razumov. Haldin asks Razumov to go find the driver who will help Haldin escape from the city. The second movement is based on the scene in which Councilor Mikulin interviews Razumov to find out what he knows about the assassin. The concluding movement corresponds to the scene in which Razumov reports to Haldin that he has found the man who will meet him.

1st Movement (Haldin assassinates the Minister): 2:30

2nd Movement (Mikulin interviews Razumov): 3:00

3rd Movement (Razumov tells Haldin, "It is done"): 3:30

Premiered by the odeon quartet with Sean Osborn, clarinet, at Town Hall, Seattle, October

The First Suite from Razumov was awarded the 2012 Cheryl A. Spector Prize.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design