Art of Sound Music on Facebook
String Trio for George Crumb

String Trio for George Crumb

Bartholomew, Greg


  • Ensemble: String Trio
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 9.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS456

Commissioned by the Oregon Bach Festival Composers Symposium in honor of George Crumb on the occasion of his 75th birthday. The first movement is constructed almost entirely from the initial and final letters of Crumb’s name: the pitches G, E, C and B ("GEorGE CrumB"). The second and third movements each extend 75 measures, marking Crumb’s 75 years. The second movement is based on the Sarabanda theme from Crumb’s extended work for electric string quartet, Black Angels, which is quoted at section B of the second movement. The pitches G, E, C and B recur as a motif in the third movement, but this time it is G# and C#, as the piece concludes with a bit of fun.

1st Movement (Adagio – Animato): 3:00

2nd Movement (Grave all’antico - Moderato): 3:00

3rd Movement (Presto – Legato dolce): 3:00

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design