Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Largo (Goin' Home) from the

Largo (Goin' Home) from the "New World" Symphony

Dvorak, Antonin

Arr. Bishop, Andrew


  • Ensemble: Trumpet and Keyboard
  • Genre: Spiritual
  • Grade: 3
  • Duration: 3.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS960

Antonín Dvorák's Symphony No. 9 in E minor "From the New World" is unquestionably his best-known composition. It was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic and composed in 1893 while Dvorák was teaching a four-year residency at the National Conservatory of Music in New York. Dvorák had always been interested in what he called "peasant music" while living in Prague, and that interest carried over to "negro melodies" upon moving to the U.S. and being exposed to those melodies by his African-American copy assistant Harry Burleigh. With these influences in mind, one of Dvorák's students, William Arms Fisher set the beloved theme from the second movement of Symphony No. 9 to words, and the spiritual "Goin' Home" was born.

Includes Flugelhorn part in B♭. Accompaniment may be played on organ and piano. Parts are provided for both which are slightly different.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design