Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Seven Bagatelles for Woodwind Quintet

Seven Bagatelles for Woodwind Quintet

Levesque, Craig


  • Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 10.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: CRL205

The Seven Bagatelles were composed between 2005 and 2007, and represent an attempt to adapt serial compositional procedures with traditional pitch collections. All seven movements are based on a common 19 note row, which is manipulated to create quasi tonal, octatonic and whole tone scales.
The movements are palindromic in nature. The first and seventh movements are the atonal, fast and contrapunctal. The second and sixth movements are tonal, and employ a motive taken from the Beethoven Horn sonata. The sixth movement is especially noteworthy for its use of canon and imitation. The third and fifth movements are octatonic, moderately fast and rhythmically intricate. The fourth movement uses mostly whole tone structures, which is fitting as the whole tone scale is fully symmetrical and this forms the center of the palindrome.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design