Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Six Appalachian Folk Songs

Six Appalachian Folk Songs


Arr. Levesque, Craig


  • Ensemble: Saxophone Quartet
  • Genre: Americana
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 16.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: CRL131SQ

Composed in 2013 for Saxophone Quartet or High Wind Trio, this collection of American Folk Songs was inspired by the music of Percy Grainger. Each arrangement treats the melody in a rhythmically unconventional way while maintaining the essential harmonic character. Rhythmic displacement, canon, imitation and polymeters are all employed to create a fresh take on these familiar melodies.

1) Big Sciota
2) The Falls of Richmond
3) The Hangman
4) I Wonder as I Wander
5) Poor Wayfaring Stranger
6) The Cumberland Gap

This is the version for Saxophone Quartet.  The High Wind Trio version may be found here.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Copyright © 2007 - 2020 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design