Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Geistliches Lied

Geistliches Lied

Brahms, Johannes

Arr. Levesque, Craig


  • Text: Paul Flemming
  • Language: German
  • Ensemble: Mixed Choir and String or Chamber Orchestra
  • Accompaniment: Chamber Orchestra
  • Genre: Romantic
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 5.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS287

Brahms composed his "Geistliches Lied" in 1856.  Scored originally for Organ or 4 hand piano, it sets a sacred text by poet and hymn writer Paul Flemming.  Clearly influenced by 17th century compositional techniques, it stands as one of Brahms' most popular choral works.  It is arranged here for String or Chamber Orchestra and SATB choir.

"Ship to Me" copies of the String Orchestra version include 5 copies each of Violin 1 and 2 parts, 4 copies of Viola part, 3 copies of cello part, and 2 copies of the Double Bass part. "Ship to Me" purchases of the Chamber Orchestra include one copy of each of the wind parts, 5 copies each of Violin 1 and 2 parts, 4 copies of Viola part, 3 copies of cello part, and 2 copies of the Double Bass part. 

Instrumentation (Chamber Orchestra):

2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns, Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello and Double Bass

All hard copy purchases come with 16 copies of the piano vocal original; additional copies may be made. Purchasers of the PDF download may make as many copies as needed.

The scoreflipper demonstrates the Chamber Orchestra and choir version.  The scoreflipper for String Orchestra and Choir is available here.


Laß dich nur nichts nicht dauren mit Trauren,
sei stille, wie Gott es fügt,
so sei vergnügt mein Wille!
Was willst du heute sorgen auf morgen?
Der Eine steht allem für,
der gibt auch dir das Deine.
Sei nur in allem Handel ohn Wandel,
steh feste, was Gott beschleußt,
das ist und heißt das Beste.

Do not be sorrowful or regretful;
Be calm, as God has ordained,
and thus my will shall be content.
What do you want to worry about from day to day?
There is One who stands above all
who gives you, too, what is yours.
Only be steadfast in all you do,
stand firm; what God has decided,
that is and must be the best.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design