Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Daphnis et ChloÚ Suite No. 1 (Trumpet Parts)

Daphnis et ChloÚ Suite No. 1 (Trumpet Parts)

Ravel, Maurice

Arr. Bishop, Andrew

Ed. Andrew Bishop


  • Ensemble: Trumpet
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 55.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: TSSP-RDCS1

This professionally re-engraved and transposed set of orchestral trumpet parts greatly eases learning and performance of the work.  Available as PDF download or hard copy (9" x 12"). You can buy the parts individually or as a package:

  • Trumpet 1 in C
  • Trumpet 2 in C
  • Trumpet 3 in C (Doubles on Trumpet in B♭)
  • Trumpet 4 in C (Doubles on Trumpet in B♭)

Notes from the Editor

In this edition, all four trumpets have their own dedicated part, which allows the deletion of all "TACET jusqu'à" in favor of showing all measures throughout the piece. 

Custom cues appear for better tracking of extended rests.

The material in bars three and four after [73] has been redistributed to Trumpets 2-4 as it appears in the score.  

All four trumpets play measures 196-198 in unison, and to facilitate the written low D-sharp, the following changes have been made:  

  • Trumpets 3 and 4 switch to B-flat trumpet before [101], then back to C trumpet before their next entrances at [105] and [106] respectively.  
  •  Parentheses have been added to the low written D-sharp in the Trumpet 1 and 2 parts, along with text indicating that Trumpets 3 and 4 are switching to B-flat trumpet to cover the note.

The Andrew Bishop Orchestral Editions explore the concept of how these orchestral masterworks would appear if they were composed today.  There are myriad differences in how music is currently published compared to when many of these works were originally engraved.  “Tradition” is usually the (poor) excuse I hear when the topic of updating these masterworks is discussed – most often in reference to transposition(s).  As a performer and teacher, I remain committed to the practice of honing vigorous transposition skills.  However, there are many of these original engravings set in keys that are truly antiquated, and make almost no sense whatsoever to keep perpetuating.  Transposition, however, is the least of the issues most of these original editions suffer from.  Paper is no longer a premium and scarce product, and therefore the practice of cramming as much material on a page is not necessary.  “Readability” was obviously not a concern with copyists of the times, and it is my opinion that the music suffered because of it.  Therefore, a ”Bish Edish” (as they are popularly referred to) features many upgrades, including:

  • Judicious spacing throughout the engraving (not too cramped, not too open)
  • Correct enharmonic spellings of notes.  This is an unfortunate byproduct of writing in asinine transpositions.  A careful reconsidering of cue usage.  
  • Corrections of many inconsistencies between original parts and score, and even between parts themselves.
  • The addition of measure numbers, including helpful ranges listed under multi-measure rests.
  • Deleting key signatures and writing all parts utilizing accidentals only.
  • All parts are formatted for standard Concert 9x12 paper, and is best printed on that size. 

Reading it on 8.5x11 is not ideal, but the compression percentage isn’t too significant.  Similarly, reading it off a larger tablet (e.g. iPad Pro) doesn’t present any significant issues.

In some instances, there are other upgrades specific to individual works that will be mentioned within the respective product.  If you happen to find something questionable that you would like to bring to my attention, please feel free to do so at:  If it is something that I need to correct, I will be happy to do so and make sure you receive a corrected part/parts.  If you have other works that you would like to have a custom edition made, please also reach out with that as well.  

Andrew Bishop, Editor

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design