Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Opening Ceremonies

Opening Ceremonies

Green, Michael C.


  • Ensemble: Brass Band
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 5.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS073

"Opening Ceremonies" was composed in 1974 for an American brass ensemble and then sat in a suitcase for 30-some years. With my recent involvement in the Princeton Brass Band it seemed I could dust off that youthful composition and recast it for traditional British-style brass band instrumentation. It also provided me the opportunity to get more familiar with the Sibelius music scoring program.

"Opening Ceremonies" is a short work that explores various musical/sonic contrasts. In addition to the obvious contrasts of loud-soft and high-low we have, among others: block chord vs. thinly scored or solo linear melody; angular vs. smooth melody, bombast vs. introspection, contrapuntal activity vs. stasis, conventional harmony vs. quartal/modal/free and bitonalities. Contrasts in various articulations even come under consideration.

But this is all in service to presenting a brass band in a bravura and vigorous context with the excitement of a variety of sonic surprises. Note that the percussionists have an important role to play as well, supplying some key colors and important rhythmic features and support.

Whether used as a concert opener or somewhere later in a program, "Opening Ceremonies" will entertain an audience and demonstrate the manifest sonic glories of a top flight brass band in full throttle.

Instrumentation: Soprano Cornet in Eb, Solo Cornet in Bb, 2nd Cornet in Bb, 3rd Cornet in Bb, Repieno Cornet in Bb, Flugelhorn, Solo Alto Horn in Eb, 2nd Alto Horn in Eb, 3rd Horn in Eb, Baritone, Trombone 1, Trombone 2, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Bass in Eb, Bass in Bb, Timpani, Percussion

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design