Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Alle Menschen müssen sterben (7 Chorale Variations for Brass Quintet)

Alle Menschen müssen sterben (7 Chorale Variations for Brass Quintet)

Pachelbel, Johann

Arr. Wernick, Warren


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 6.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS357

Johann Pachelbel (1653-1706), composer and organist, was one of the leading progressive German composers of his time. Formerly admired chiefly as a composer of organ and other keyboard music, he is now recognized as a leading composer of church and chamber music. His famous Canon in D Major is arguably one of the most well-known (and tuneful) pieces ever written. The work I have arranged here for brass quintet is actually a secular work based on a liturgical hym, in it you will hear contrapuntal ingredients, and variations intended for diversion. Like Pachelbel, I love the tune of this chorale. The variations he devised are delightful. Variation 6 is especially interesting given the time-period it was composed, the chromatisicm looks forward to modern times (dare I say Jazz?). This is a challenging arrangement for Brass Quintet. I think it can be a very effective concert work if presented carefully and well-prepared (I wouldn't recommend sight-reading this on a street gig). Have fun.


Part 1 - Bb Trumpet (alt. C Trumpet)
Part 2 - Bb Trumpet (alt. C Trumpet)
Part 3 - F Horn (alt. Eb Horn, Bb Baritone T.C.)
Part 4 - Trombone B.C. (alt. Bb Trombone T.C.)
Part 5 - Tuba B.C. (alt. Eb Bass T.C., Bb Bass T.C)

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design