Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Fugue on B-a-c-h

Fugue on B-a-c-h

Albrechtsberger, Johann Georg

Arr. Wernick, Warren


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 3.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS356

This fugue on the B-a-c-h by the Austrian composer, teacher, theorist and organist Johann Georg Albrechtsberger (1736-1809) is an interesting addition to the myriad of works that have been written using the letters of Bach's name. (corresponding to the notes B-flat, A, C and B natural - "H" being the German symbol for B natural). But this shouldn't be surprising coming from a dude that, as a champion of the contrapuntal tradition, wrote some 284 church compositions, 278 keyboard works and over 193 works for other instruments. After his imperial appointment in 1772 he became increasingly preoccupied with the composition of fugues – over 240 for instruments in addition to numerous examples in the sacred music. This brass quintet arrangement may be considered challenging by many however if worked on, will reap the rewards of satisfaction. I have purposely left out any dynamic markings or editorial marks in the hopes that you will add your own as you rehearse and prepare. My only advice is to keep the tempo steady - don't slow down!!

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design