Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Ah, dolente partita!

Ah, dolente partita!

Monteverdi, Claudio

Arr. Hirschman, Ed


  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet
  • Genre: Madrigal
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 3.3 minutes
  • Catalog Number: ABP044

Claudio Monteverdi was one of the most innovative and accomplished masters of the madrigal. He published eight books of secular madrigals over a period of fifty years, each one representing a different stage in the development of his compositional style. In the fourth and fifth books we observe the madrigal at its zenith.

“Ah, dolente partita,” from his fourth book of madrigals, is representative of a bridge to a new style, while still maintaining elements of the old style.  The madrigal’s text, taken from Guarini’s Il pastor fido, details the protagonist of the play’s
separation from his lover, highlighting (quite drastically) the painful experience of longing, loss, and sorrow.

Trumpet parts are provided in C and B♭.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design