Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Pictures of Crimea

Pictures of Crimea

Mussorgsky, Modest

Arr. Levesque, Craig


  • Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
  • Genre: Romantic
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 8.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: CRL125

Intended as a pair of “remembrances”, Mussorgsky composed these two short works during a visit to Crimea in 1879. Both were originally titled “Near the Southern Shore of Crimea”, but were distinguishable by their subtitles - “su Gkhurzuf by Ayu-Dag” and "Baydarki Capriccio" respectively. Many modern editions have adopted the titles of “On the Southern Shore” and “Near the Southern Shore”, although the second movement is commonly referred to as “Capriccio” as well. The first movement is a solemn processional, while the second is lively and intense. Both have a center section that is inspired by Crimean folk music.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2022 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design