Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Freeing the Caged Bird

Freeing the Caged Bird

Harbach, Barbara


  • Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 15.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS1484

Freeing the Caged Bird is a four-movement tribute inspired by the literary works of four native St. Louis women who struggled to give voice to their creativity. The first movement is based on the book I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou, who is regarded as one of the great voices of contemporary literature. Inspired by Sara Teasdale's poem “Sunset St. Louis” the second movement evokes the swirling, twilight imagery of her poem. The third movement represents Kate Chopin’s then notorious novel The Awakening, first published in 1899. The last movement, based on Emily Hahn’s book, Hong Kong Holiday, expresses the joie de vivre of a woman who refused to accept society’s dictums.



In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design