Art of Sound Music on Facebook
A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol

Hirschman, Ed


  • Text: Ed Hirschman
  • Ensemble: Brass Quintet and Narrator
  • Genre: Christmas
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 8.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: ABP0213

"A Christmas Carol" for Brass Quintet, Narrator and OPTIONAL Percussion

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens was published in London in 1843. It recounts the story of Ebenezer Scrooge, an elderly miser who is visited by the ghost of his former business partner Jacob Marley and the spirits of Christmas Past, Present and Future. After their visits, Scrooge is transformed into a kinder, gentler man.

 It is a perfect fit for any holiday concert, and may start a new, annual tradition for your ensemble!

This work takes the user through a number of scenes:

SCROOGE & MARLEY’S - A musical introduction to Ebenezer Scrooge. The odd time signature changes and jarring tritone (the devil's interval) reflect Scrooge's off-putting personality.

MARLEY - A dirge plays as Marley's ghost appears. Marley's rattling chains of selfishness are heard (played by the percussion section).

GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PAST - An upbeat and fanciful journey into the past.

FEZZIWIG's SHOP - The well-known carol "Deck the Halls" is transformed into an Elizabethan dance with tambourine and woodwind flourishes. Scrooge watches himself as a fun-loving young man, before he became mean and bitter.

GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PRESENT - Jubilant music announces the arrival of the giant, jovial Ghost of Christmas present.

THE CRATCHITS - A sentimental melody portraying the loving Cratchit family turns melancholy with the possibility of losing Tiny Tim.

GHOST OF CHRISTMAS FUTURE - A mysterious, scary theme is heard as the ghost of Christmas future arrives. A lone muted trumpet expresses the sorrow that will ensue if Scrooge doesn't change his ways.

SCROOGE'S GRAVE - The orchestra at fortissimo captures Scrooge's fear of seeing his own grave. A creepy carnival theme captures his sheer terror and desperation. A solo Glockenspiel plays the Ghost of Christmas Future leitmotif as Scrooge begs for a second chance and is released by the Ghost.

CHRISTMAS DAY - The Hallelujah Chorus from the Messiah is played and morphed into a new, joyous theme as Scrooge embraces his opportunity for redemption.

DINNER SCENE - Our story concludes as Scrooge enjoys a veritable Christmas feast with the Cratchit Family. "The First Noel" plays as we learn about Scrooge's transformation into a generous, caring man whose love changes lives, including his own.

  • Trumpet 1 & 2 in B♭ (Doubles on Flugelhorn)
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba
  • OPTIONAL Percussion 1 (Sus. Cym., Chains, Sp. Cym.,Rainstick, Timp., Dr. Set)
  • OPTIONAL Percussion 2 (Gong, Xyl., B. Drum, Tamb., Chimes, Glock.)
  • Narrator (female or male)

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design