Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Symphony #4 for Band

Symphony #4 for Band

Cummings, Barton


  • Ensemble: Concert Band
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 20.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS201

Written in four movements this is the composers second symphony for band.
The first movement title, "They Shall Mount Up With Wings As Eagles" is taken from the Book of Isaiah. The opening measures in the percussion are from the University of New Hampshire Alma Mater. In reality they are from the hymn The Day of Resurrection. This proceeds into a fanfare type style that leads to a setting of the chorale, Ein Feste Burg Ist Unser Gott which roughly translates to A Might Fortress Is Our God. This in turns leads back to the opening fanfare material.
The second movement, Elegy features both dissonant and atonal sections as well as lyrical and tonal sections. The overall effect is one of melancholy and sadness.
The third movement, Variants On An Medieval Melody is a set of variations on the well-known melody In Dulce Jubilo. There are a number of variants on this tune and a nice section for the percussion section. The movement ends in a blaze with all stops pulled.
The fourth and final movement simply titled Finale begins with a slow and moody introduction leading in a fast and furious vivace. There are very few changes in the style once the movement starts the fast section. There are some contrasting styles within the movement.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design