Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Sonata in A Minor

Sonata in A Minor

Dykins, Dale

Ed. Greg Bartholomew


  • Ensemble: Violin and Piano
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 18.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS653

The score for Dale Dykins' Sonata in A Minor was found in a closet after his death in 2009. From the markings on the score, it appears that the Sonata was performed with Dykins at the piano, probably in July 1951. It is believed that the Sonata had not been performed in more than 50 years.

1. Allegro Risoluto I. Allegro Risoluto - Duration: ca. 7:00
2. Grave II. Grave un poco misterioso - Duration: ca. 5:00
3. Allegro Agitato III. Allegro Agitato - Duration: ca. 3:15

The first movement of the Sonata was the subject of the 2013 Burke & Bagley Prize. Violinist Leonid Zhelezny and pianist Andrey Iliushkin won the Prize, and their performance can be heard on the ScoreFlipper file and in the following video:

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2022 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design