Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Cheviot Hills

Cheviot Hills

Lathan, Mark


  • Ensemble: Trumpet and Piano
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 4.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS662

Intended for intermediate level trumpet students, Cheviot Hills is a musical imaginary journey into a beautiful area of rolling hills and countryside located at the border between England and Scotland. The slow introduction leads us in, followed by the brisk main theme, hinting that we may first be travelling this newly discovered country not by car or train but on horseback. The middle section of this theme (MM 41-61) is intended to convey the same brisk motion but much smoother now, almost as if flying. Its important that the Listesso tempo at measure 41 is observed. A retransition in the piano brings back the main theme to ride again and close the piece.
Challenging passage work, lyrical contrasts, and some interesting harmonies make Cheviot Hills a nice addition to the developing students repertoire. Enjoy!

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design