Art of Sound Music on Facebook
The Hollow Men

The Hollow Men

Levesque, Craig


  • Ensemble: Flute, Clarinet and Piano
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 10.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: CRL121

The composer writes:
“The Hollow Men”, composed for “Trio@play” in the spring of 2012, was inspired by the T. S. Elliot poem of the same name. While it was originally conceived as a five movement work with each of the movements based on a line from the poems five stanzas, the music composed for stanzas one and five quickly came to dominate the work. As a result, I abandoned the original framework in favor of a three movement composition with several short interludes, performed without breaks between sections. A variety of compositional techniques are employed, including some usually associated with serialism, atonality and minimalism. As a result, the texture and harmonic language is reflective of the dark and somber tone of the poem.


Kenneth Ellison, Clarinet
Kevin Willois, Flute
Lynda Saponara, Piano

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design