Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Galapagos Sketches

Galapagos Sketches

DuBrock, Chris


  • Ensemble: Piano
  • Genre: Modern Classical
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 9.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: AOS125

The Galapagos Sketches for solo piano were conceived while on a boat expedition in the Galapagos Islands. Each of the four movements attempts to capture a memorable impression from this voyage: the first, Angel Fish, recalls the euphoria of snorkeling amongst colorful schools of tropical fish, observing the slow, rhythmic wavering of their figures during relaxed moments as well as their flickering agitation as they become spooked; Tag Game: Sea Lion and Iguana was inspired by the comic spectacle of a good-natured sea lion playfully harassing a dinosaur-like animal that defines the word grumpy; Tortoises of Santa Cruz seeks to capture the lumbering melancholy of these creatures that were at one time cruelly exploited by explorers and currently live in captivity; and Avian Dive-Bombers aims to evoke the cartoonish antics of pelicans and boobys as they as they capture their dinner amongst the cliffs and inlets of the islands.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design