Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Nuages (Clouds) from Nocturnes 423.11

Nuages (Clouds) from Nocturnes 423.11

Debussy, Claude

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Impressionist
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 6.0 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE200102

Nuages renders the immutable aspect of the sky and the slow, solemn motion of the clouds, fading away in grey tones lightly tinged with white. 

Biographer Léon Vallas recorded Debussy's comments on the genesis of this piece:

One day, in stormy weather, as Debussy was crossing a bridge in Paris with a friend, he mentioned that on a similar kind of day the idea of the symphonic work "Clouds" had occurred to him: he had visualized those very thunderclouds swept along by a stormy wind; a boat passing, with its horn sounding.

For 11 piece brass ensemble 423.11 and percussion

  • Trumpet 1 in E♭ (alt. B♭ part provided)
  • Piccolo Trumpet 2 in B♭ 
  • Trumpet 3 in E♭ 
  • Flugelhorn
  • 2 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Timpani

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.

In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design