Art of Sound Music on Facebook
Fugue in G minor 424.11

Fugue in G minor 424.11

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Arr. Allen, Michael


  • Ensemble: Brass Ensemble
  • Genre: Classical
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 3.5 minutes
  • Catalog Number: BB-BE231015

Fugue in G minor, BWV 578, (popularly known as the Little Fugue), is a piece of organ music written by Johann Sebastian Bach during his years at Arnstadt (1703–1707). It is one of Bach's best known fugues and has been the subject of many arrangements, perhaps most noatably in an orchestral version by Leopold Stokowski.

Early editors of Bach's work attached the title of "Little Fugue" to distinguish it from the later Great Fantasia and Fugue in G minor, BWV 542, which is longer in duration and more challenging to play.

Originally written for the Summit Brass and recorded in 1987 (Summit Brass, "Toccata & Fugue" DCD 101), this arrangement is the origin story of both Boulder Brass Publications (our first publication) and Summit Records (their first recording). This publication, identical in instrumentation, is here revised informed by more than 35 years of arranging and publishing experience.

For 12-piece brass ensemble 424.11 and percussion


  • Piccolo Trumpet 1 in B♭
  • Trumpet 2 in E♭
  • Trumpet 3 in B♭
  • Flugelhorn
  • 4 Horns
  • 2 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba

This arrangement is part of our Boulder Brass Signature Series.


In Stock

"Ship to me" orders usually leave the warehouse in one business day

Choose Delivery Option:

Delivery Option

Add to Cart:


Other works by this composer or arranger in this category...

Copyright © 2007 - 2024 Art of Sound Music, LLC
Design by JT Website Design